Which country shares maximum border with india?

Names of border lines between India and neighbouring countries:

India has 15,106.7 Km of land border and a coastline of 7,516.6 Km including island territories. The length of our land borders with neighbouring countries is as under: 

S. No.
Name of Country
Length of Border in KM

Given below is a list of important boundary lines, and the list of states which share their boundaries with the seven neighbouring countries.

McMahon Line

Named after the British Indian Army officer Lieutenant Colonel Sir Arthur Henry McMahon, who was also an administrator in British India, the McMahon line is a demarcation that separates Tibet and the north-east India. Colonel McMahon had proposed this line as the boundary between Tibet, China, and India at the Shimla Convention of 1914. It was accepted by Tibetan authorities and British India, and is now acknowledged by the Republic of India as the official boundary. China, however, disputes the validity of the McMahon line. It claims that Tibet isn’t a sovereign government, and therefore any treaty made with Tibet stands invalid.

Radcliffe Line

Radcliffe Line divided British India into India and Pakistan. It is named after the architect of this line, Sir Cyril Radcliffe, who was also the chairman of the Boundary Commissions. The Radcliffe Line was drawn between West Pakistan (now Pakistan) and India on the western side and between India and East Pakistan (now Bangladesh) on the eastern side of the subcontinent.

Durand Line

Boundary line between India and Afghanistan demarcated by Sir Mortimer Durand, a British diplomat in the year 1896 is known as the Durand Line. It separated British India and Afghanistan. After partition, Pakistan inherited this line. However, a short section of the Afghanistan border is shared with the Indian state of Jammu and Kashmir.

Line of Actual Control (LAC)

Line of Actual Control is the demarcation line between India and China which separates the India controlled territory from the China-controlled territory in the former princely state of Jammu and Kashmir. In 1962, the two countries were embroiled in a war. China attacked India and captured the Aksai Chin area. In 1963, China declared ceasefire but did not leave the area. Now, the ceasefire line is known as the LAC. This line is not actually recognised as international boundary.

Line of Control (LOC)

The military controlled line between India and Pakistan in the former princely state of Jammu and Kashmir is named as the Line of Control (LOC). It was originally known as the Ceasefire Line. After the Simla Agreement signed on July 3, 1972, the Ceasefire Line was renamed as the LOC. This line is not actually recognised as international boundary.

source :https://mha.gov.in/sites/default/files/BMIntro-1011.pdf
and https://www.mapsofindia.com/

Post a comment